High Court

High Court in India, List of High Courts

Each state has a High Court. It is the highest judicial organ of the state. However, there cab we a common high Court like Punjab, Haryana & Union territory of Chandigarh. Presently there are 21 high courts in India. Consists of chief justice & other such judge as appointed by the president. The Constitution, unlike in the case of the Supreme Court, does not fix any maximum number of judge for a High Court. (Allahabad High Court has 37 Judges while J&K High Court has only 5). A Judge of high court be transferred to another High Court without his consent by the president. In this, the chief justice of India is also consulted. The opinion provided by him shall have primacy and is binding on the president. Appointment of High Court Judge:
Every Judge of a Court is appointed by the president.In making appointment as High Court Judge, President can consult the Chief Justice of India , the Governor of the State and also the Chief and also the Chief Justice of that High Court
A Judge of the High Court can hold office until the age of 62 years. A High Court Judge can leave his office:
(1) By resignation in writing addressed to the president.
(2) By being appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court or being transferred to any other High Court by the president.
(3) By removal by the president.
(4) The Mode of removal of a Judge of the High Court is same as that of Judge of the Supreme Court.
The qualifications for being a Judge of the High Court are: Be citizen of India. Not above 62 year of age. Must have held for at least 10 year a judicial office or experience of at least 10 years as advocate in a High Court in India. Salaries and allowances of the high court Judges are charged on the consolidated fund of the State .After retirement a permanent Judge of High Court can not plead or act in a Court of before any authority in India, expect the Supreme Court and a High Court in which he has not worked.
Name Establishment year Territorial Jurisdiction Seat
Allahabad 1866 Utter Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Andhra Pradesh 1954 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Bombay 1862 Maharastra, Dadar, & Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman  Diu
Kolkata 1862 West Bengal, Andman & Nicobar Islands Kolkata ( Bench of port Blair)
Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
Guwahati 1948 Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Bench at Kohima , Imphal , Agartala , and Shilong
Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Himachal Pradesh 1966 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jammu & Kashmir 1928 Jammu & Kashmir Sri Nagar & Jammu
Karnataka 1884 Karnataka Bangalore
Kerala 1958 Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur  (Bench –Indore , Gwalior)
Madras 1862 Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry Chennai
Orissa 1948 Orissa Cuttack
Patna 1916 Bihar Patna
Punjab & Haryana 1975 Punjab, Haryana , Chandigarh Chandigarh
Rajasthan 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur ( Bench – Jaipur)
Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
Chhattisgarh 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Uttarakhand 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital
Jharkhand 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi


Post a Comment